Aduno Group becomes Viseca

COVID-19 has dampened the outlook for 2020. The Aduno Group’s sales as well as consolidated earnings were significantly below those of the previous year as of 30 June. The card portfolio, on the other hand, showed gratifyingly positive growth, reaching a new high with a little over 1.7 million payment cards. As part of the strategic focus on the card business, Aduno Holding became Viseca Holding on 18 June 2020. In the second half of the year, the company will be divided into an issuing and a processing business as planned. Viseca is thus ideally positioned to benefit from the advancing digitisation in the payment market.

The first semester of 2020 was dominated by the coronavirus pandemic and its associated restrictions. A review of this period is correspondingly disappointing. Viseca’s consolidated turnover fell by 32.4 percent from CHF 281.3 million to CHF 190.2 million compared to the same period in the previous year. This corresponds to a decrease of CHF 91.1 million, with CHF 50.3 million that can be attributed to the sale of cashgate AG. The decline in the card business was noticeable in all areas: Commission income decreased by 26.6 percent, annual fees by 1.1 percent and other income by 31.1 percent. Interest income also decreased by 71.9 percent; however, this was due to the previously mentioned sale of cashgate AG. The ordinary result was CHF -11.7 million as of 30 June 2020 compared to CHF 45.3 million in the previous year.

Business suffering due to COVID-19

Transaction turnover was CHF 4,516 million in the first half of 2020. This corresponds to a 12.9 percent reduction compared to the same period in the previous year (CHF 5,187 million). Transaction turnover abroad decreased by 31.4 percent due to the lockdown. This decrease can primarily be ascribed to the substantial drop of more than 50 percent in the tourism and entertainment industries. The decrease was partially compensated by a slight 2.5 percent increase in domestic business. The retail sector in particular grew strongly in the Swiss market by more than 25 percent. The increase in the limit from CHF 40 to CHF 80 for contactless payments without a PIN, which was decided by issuers, acquirers and merchants in April, clearly had an impact. The continuing substitution for cash got a significant boost from this.

As a consequence of the coronavirus pandemic and the related decline, Viseca's consolidated earnings decreased to CHF -11.8 million in the first half of 2020 (2019: CHF 34.3 million, CHF 8.5 million of which from the former subsidiary cashgate). This development made it necessary to adjust the plans for the current year. In addition, due to COVID-19, the need for a CHF 1.5 million write-down for intangible assets arose.

In the middle of 2020, Viseca had 742 employees (full-time equivalents). In the previous year, there were 913 employees as of 30 June. The decrease can primarily be attributed to the sale of cashgate AG on 2 September 2019 to Cembra Money Bank AG. Equity remains very high at CHF 582.9 million. This corresponds to an equity ratio of 43.4 percent.

Card portfolio continues to grow

The card portfolio amounted to just over 1.7 million cards as of 30 June 2020, which corresponds to a 6.0 percent increase compared to the previous year. The migration of the myOne customer card to Manor World Mastercard®, which is under way and very successful, contributed to this among other things. With the launch of the attractive new free payment card with a loyalty programme, we were able not only to considerably expand our card portfolio, but we are also tapping into the important retail trade as a second pillar in addition to customer banks. We gained the necessary know-how thanks to the full acquisition of Accarda AG in 2018.

Furthermore, various customer banks opted for a Debit Mastercard® or Mastercard Flex® from Viseca in the first half of 2020. Other customer banks will follow in the coming months.

A mixed outlook

After the lockdown was eased, Swiss consumers showed above-average spending behaviour, which was reflected in a significant increase in turnover. Starting from the middle of June, there was also an improvement in business within the Euro zone, but still below the level of the previous year. Outside of Europe, however, there has been no recovery so far. This is not expected to change significantly in the coming months. The annual result will be significantly lower than that of the previous year.

In contrast, the domestic card business benefited from an accelerated shift from face-to-face business to e-commerce due to the lockdown. This trend is expected to continue into the second half of 2020 and beyond. This proves that by focusing the company on the card business - and cashless payment in particular - Viseca has taken the right steps to benefit from these developments in the future. The division into an issuing and processing company planned for the beginning of the fourth quarter of 2020 should also be seen in this context. To achieve this, we changed the name Aduno Holding to Viseca Holding on 18 June 2020. By doing so, we are strengthening Viseca as a brand. We also integrated Accarda AG and Aduno Finance AG into Viseca Card Services AG within the framework of two mergers.

Pressing ahead with transformation

We were also able to achieve milestones in the first half of 2020 in the field of digitisation, which is central to us. In March, we introduced Google Pay. Viseca now supports all commonly used mobile payment solutions and provides the most complete offering of digital payments solutions in Switzerland. Furthermore, we created a CIO position starting on 1 August 2020. We are thus positioning our organisation more broadly in the operations field and giving IT the weight it deserves along with its own representation in the management team.

We are convinced that thanks to the transformation from a traditional card issuer to a digital FinTech company specialising in cashless payments, Viseca is ideally positioned for the future. We enable our customers to benefit from changes in the market. And thanks to innovative products and services as well as an equity ratio that is as solid as ever, Viseca can seize market opportunities and react to unforeseeable events such as COVID-19.

Issuing turnover

[in CHF billion]

Card transactions

[in million transactions]

Aduno Gruppe wird zur Viseca

Die Aussichten für 2020 haben sich aufgrund von COVID-19 eingetrübt. Sowohl Umsatz wie auch Konzernergebnis der Aduno Gruppe liegen per 30. Juni deutlich unter dem Vorjahreswert. Erfreulich entwickelte sich demgegenüber der Kartenbestand, der mit etwas mehr als 1.7 Millionen Zahlkarten einen neuen Höchststand erreichte. Im Rahmen der strategischen Fokussierung auf das Kartengeschäft wurde die Aduno Holding per 18. Juni 2020 auf Viseca Holding umfirmiert. In der zweiten Jahreshälfte folgt die geplante Aufteilung des Unternehmens in eine Issuing- und eine Processing-Gesellschaft. Damit ist Viseca ideal aufgestellt, um von der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung im Zahlmarkt zu profitieren.

Das erste Halbjahr 2020 stand ganz im Zeichen der Coronavirus-Pandemie und den damit einhergehenden Einschränkungen. Entsprechend enttäuschend fällt der Rückblick aus. Der konsolidierte Umsatz der Viseca ging im Vergleich zur Vorjahresperiode um 32.4 Prozent von CHF 281.3 Mio. auf CHF 190.2 Mio. zurück. Das entspricht einem Rückgang um CHF 91.1 Mio, wobei CHF 50.3 Mio. auf den Verkauf der cashgate AG entfallen. Der Rückgang im Kartengeschäft machte sich in allen Bereichen bemerkbar: Der Kommissionsertrag sank um 26.6 Prozent, die Jahresgebühren um 1.1 Prozent und die übrigen Erträge um 31.1 Prozent. Der Zinsertrag ging ebenfalls zurück, und zwar um 71.9 Prozent, dies allerdings aufgrund des besagten Verkaufs der cashgate AG. Das ordentliche Ergebnis liegt per 30. Juni 2020 bei CHF -11.7 Mio. gegenüber CHF 45.3 Mio. im Vorjahr.

Geschäft leidet unter COVID-19

Der Transaktionsumsatz beläuft sich für das erste Halbjahr 2020 auf CHF 4'516 Mio. Das entspricht einer Reduktion um 12.9 Prozent gegenüber der Vorjahresperiode (CHF 5'187 Mio.). Im Ausland ging der Transaktionsumsatz aufgrund des Lockdowns um 31.4 Prozent zurück. Dieser Rückgang ist grösstenteils auf die substanzielle Abnahme von mehr als 50 Prozent in den Bereichen Tourismus und Unterhaltung zurückzuführen. Der Rückgang wurde teilweise durch eine leichte Zunahme um 2.5 Prozent im Inland-Geschäft kompensiert. Insbesondere der Retail-Bereich legte im Heimmarkt mit mehr als 25 Prozent stark zu. Hier machte sich die von Issuern, Acquirern und Händlern im April beschlossene Erhöhung der Limite für kontaktloses Bezahlen ohne PIN von CHF 40 auf CHF 80 bemerkbar. Die anhaltende Bargeldsubstitution erhielt dadurch einen deutlichen Schub.

Als Konsequenz der Coronavirus-Pandemie und des damit einhergehenden Rückgangs sank das Konzernergebnis der Viseca im ersten Halbjahr 2020 auf CHF -11.8 Mio. (2019: CHF 34.3 Mio, davon CHF 8.5 Mio. aus der ehemaligen Tochter cashgate). Diese Entwicklung macht eine Adjustierung der Planung für das laufende Jahr notwendig. Zudem ist aufgrund von COVID-19 ein Wertberichtigungsbedarf auf den immateriellen Anlagen in der Höhe von CHF 1.5 Mio. entstanden.

Zur Jahresmitte 2020 beschäftigte die Viseca 742 Mitarbeitende (Vollzeitäquivalente). Im Vorjahr waren es per 30. Juni 913 Mitarbeitende. Der Rückgang ist grösstenteils auf den Verkauf der cashgate AG per 2. September 2019 an die Cembra Money Bank AG zurückzuführen. Das Eigenkapital bewegt sich mit CHF 582.9 Mio. nach wie vor auf sehr hohem Niveau. Dies entspricht einer Eigenkapitalquote von 43.4 Prozent.

Kartenbestand wächst weiter

Der Kartenbestand belief sich per 30. Juni 2020 auf etwas über 1.7 Millionen Karten, was einer Zunahme von 6.0 Prozent gegenüber dem Vorjahresbestand entspricht. Dazu trug unter anderem die angelaufene und bisher sehr erfolgreiche Migration der myOne Kundenkarte zur Manor World Mastercard® bei. Mit der Lancierung dieser attraktiven neuen Gratis-Zahlkarte mit Treueprogramm konnten wir nicht nur unser Kartenportfolio deutlich erweitern. Wir erschliessen damit auch den wichtigen Detailhandel als zweites Standbein neben den Kundenbanken. Über das dafür nötige Know-how verfügen wir dank der vollständigen Akquisition der Accarda AG im 2018.

Daneben haben sich auch im ersten Halbjahr 2020 verschiedene Kundenbanken für eine Debit Mastercard® oder Mastercard Flex® von Viseca entschieden. In den kommenden Monaten folgen weitere Kundenbanken.

Aussichten sind durchmischt

Schweizer Konsumenten zeigten sich nach der Lockerung des Lockdowns überdurchschnittlich ausgabenfreudig, was sich in einem deutlichen Umsatzanstieg niederschlug. Ab Mitte Juni machte sich zudem eine Verbesserung im Geschäft innerhalb des Euro-Raums bemerkbar, allerdings nach wie vor unter Vorjahr. Ausserhalb Europas ist eine Erholung bisher allerdings ausgeblieben. Dies dürfte sich in den kommenden Monaten auch nicht massgeblich ändern. Das Jahresresultat wird deutlich unter dem des Vorjahres liegen.

Hingegen profitierte das inländische Kartengeschäft aufgrund des Lockdowns von einer beschleunigten Verlagerung des Präsenzgeschäfts hin zum E-Commerce. Dieser Trend dürfte sich in der zweiten Hälfte 2020 und darüber hinaus fortsetzen. Hier zeigt sich, dass die Viseca mit der Fokussierung des Unternehmens auf das Kartengeschäft – und das bargeldlose Bezahlen schlechthin – die richtigen Schritte eingeleitet hat, um künftig von diesen Entwicklungen zu profitieren. In diesem Kontext ist auch die für den Beginn des vierten Quartals 2020 geplante Aufteilung in eine Issuing- und eine Processing-Gesellschaft zu sehen. Auf dem Weg dorthin haben wir per 18. Juni 2020 die Aduno Holding in Viseca Holding umfirmiert. Damit stärken wir Viseca als Marke. Und wir haben im Rahmen zweier Fusionen die Accarda AG und die Aduno Finance AG in die Viseca Card Services SA integriert.

Transformation schreitet voran

Auch im für uns zentralen Bereich der Digitalisierung konnten wir im ersten Halbjahr 2020 erneut Meilensteine erreichen. Im März haben wir Google Pay eingeführt. Damit unterstützt Viseca alle heute gängigen Mobile-Payment-Lösungen und bietet das kompletteste Angebot für digitale Bezahllösungen in der Schweiz. Zudem haben wir per 1. August 2020 die Funktion des CIO geschaffen. Damit stellen wir unsere Organisation im Bereich Operations breiter auf und verschaffen der IT das nötige Gewicht sowie eine eigene Vertretung in der Geschäftsleitung.

Wir sind überzeugt, dass Viseca dank der Transformation von einem traditionellen Kartenherausgeber hin zu einem digitalen, auf bargeldloses Bezahlen spezialisierten FinTech-Unternehmen ideal für die Zukunft aufgestellt ist. Unseren Kunden ermöglichen wir, von den Veränderungen am Markt zu profitieren. Und Viseca kann dank innovativer Produkte und Dienstleistungen sowie einer nach wie vor soliden Eigenkapitalquote die Chancen des Marktes wahrnehmen sowie auf unvorhersehbare Ereignisse wie COVID-19 reagieren.

Umsatzvolumen Issuing

[Mrd. CHF]

Kartentransaktionen

[Mio. Anzahl]